Gemini Tarot Cards: The Lovers and More

March 28, 2022

Zodiac sign Gemini is represented by two Major Arcana cards (The Lovers and The Magician), and four Minor Arcana cards, including Knight of Swords.

With two Major Arcana cards and four Minor Arcana cardsGemini actually has a total of six Tarot cards associated with it! We chatted with Tarot reader Maisy Bristol of Tarot By Maisy to get the details on what all these cards mean, and why they were chosen for the sign of the Twins.

The Lovers

First, we have the card that most people have already associated Gemini with: The Lovers. This is the sixth card in the Major Arcana, making it a very “fresh” moment in the full Major Arcana journey, according to Bristol. “If you think about it, Gemini is fun, lively, exciting, a little surface-level, and very childish. So, it’s no wonder why it’s associated with a very early Major Arcana card.”

The Lovers, she says, represents the kind of love that doesn’t always last. It’s free-flowing and thrilling, but it doesn’t always stick around. (Hey, excitable Gemini!) “Gemini’s focus is equivalent to a goldfish, so I love that The Lovers touches on that ‘let’s-just-live-in-the-moment’ kind of vibe.”

The Magician

The reason we have The Magician here is that it’s related to the planet that rules Gemini, Mercury. Mercury is all about communication, ideas, and learning. On the other hand, The Magician is quite similar. “The Magician comes up at a time when we feel we have all the materials we need to succeed,” she says. “So, much like Gemini, The Magician is more about planning or idealizing what’s going to happen next—as opposed to actually doing it.”

She relates this card to Gemini’s dream-like tendencies but its perpetual lack of follow-through.  

8 of Swords

“All the cardinal signs are represented by 8, 9, and 10 cards—of their respective suit—in the Minor Arcana,” says Bristol. Gemini is a cardinal sign, and the Swords in Tarot are symbolic of Gemini’s element, air. So, it occupies the 8, 9, and 10 of Swords.

The 8 of Swords card represents a time when we feel trapped … but mostly from our own indecision or willingness to stay aloof, according to Bristol. 

“This card tells us when we’re not willing to step out of fantasy land and/or when we’re not ready to pretend like we don’t know what’s going on,” she says. “Most of this is chalked up to indecision about how we really feel—a very Gemini trait.”

9 of Swords

The 9 of Swords is often referred to as “the nightmare card,” explains Bristol. The reason for this is because it often reflects moments of paralyzing indecision—and even anxiety—that are so commonly felt by Gemini placements.

10 of Swords

Lastly, the 10 of Swords represents a time when we feel like we’ve been “stabbed in the back”—either by others or by ourselves. “It’s a very foot-in-the-mouth kind of card,” says Bristol. “I kind of love it for Gemini because it represents that moment that we should have watched what we said or taken a step back to reflect before acting… which is something spontaneous Gemini is not very good at.”

She also explains that this card is reflective of Gemini’s angsty side—as it can indicate a woe-is-me kind of attitude. 

Knight of Swords

The Knight of Swords—with Swords symbolizing action—represents a young and naive person acting on instinct. Bristol says this kind of person is bold, exciting, and will always go after what they want with a fearless attitude. But they can be prone to jumping the gun, over-excitement, and risk-taking.


Are Tarot cards astrology?

Tarot cards and astrology are completely different mediums. While Tarot cards use Tarot and oracle decks as divinatory tools, astrology is calculated from the movement of the planets in the sky and a birth chart.

What Tarot card is Capricorn?

Capricorn is represented by these six cards: The DevilThe World, 2/3/4 of Pentacles, and Queen of Pentacles.

Related Articles:

Full Moon Tarot Spread and Ritual

Tarot Card Symbolism

Shadow Work Tarot Spread